À propos

À propos

L’histoire en tête (HeT) est un ensemble de ressources pédagogiques en ligne permettant aux éducateurs de tous les programmes professionnels, des premier et deuxième cycles, d’intégrer des perspectives critiques sur la santé mentale dans l’enseignement en ligne ou en classe. Issues du site Web Folie Canada,, les premières unités pédagogiques de l’HeT ont été tirées des recherches effectuées pour le projet Après l’asile, une étude nationale canadienne sur le passage de la santé mentale en établissement à la santé mentale communautaire. Les experts communautaires, ainsi que les personnes ayant vécu des différences en matière de santé mentale, ont fourni un modèle de contenu pour l’HeT et ont contribué des expériences intimes, informées et nuancées de leurs vécus. 

L’HeT poursuit son évolution. À l’automne 2019, nous avons relancé l’HeT avec un nouveau design et un nouveau système de gestion de contenu. Grâce à une collaboration avec la faculté de traduction du Collège universitaire Glendon, nous sommes en mesure d’ajouter de nouvelles unités en français chaque année. Avec le soutien financier de l’Université York, nous allons à présent de l’avant avec du nouveau contenu conçu en partenariat avec des étudiantes et des étudiants en stage de l’Université York et la jeunesse de diverses communautés de la région du Grand Toronto.

Comme pour d’autres projets de Folie Canada, le processus de développement de l’HeT est basé sur les principes de la démocratie participative et nous accordons une grande valeur aux connaissances expérientielles des personnes présentant des différences en matière de santé mentale.

En tant que membre de Creative Commons, nous invitons les utilisateurs à partager et à adapter notre matériel tout en respectant les valeurs et les principes d’HeT. Nous demandons aux utilisateurs de nous accorder du crédit, de s’abstenir de faire des profits sur notre matériel et de distribuer les ressources d’HeT sous notre licence originale de Creative Commons.

Alex Verkade 

Ce site web est dédié à notre ami et collègue Alex Verkade, décédé à Vancouver en juillet 2013, alors que ce projet était sur le point d’être complété.

Une personne d’une grande sagesse et d’une grande bonté, qui avait aussi un passé et un diagnostic psychiatrique. Alex croyait passionnément que les gens comme lui étaient parfaitement capables d’«apporter une contribution positive à leur communauté en mettant sur pied des organismes alternatifs axés sur les besoins des bénéficiaires et de démontrer l’importance de l’implication des bénéficiaires auprès des professionnels de la santé mentale et travailleurs sociaux». Alex a consacré sa vie à ce travail : au MPA, au West Coast Mental Health Network, au Unity Housing, et plus récemment avec le film Inmates Are Running the Asylum : Stories from MPA, puis finalement en participant à l’élaboration du présent matériel didactique.

Alex était un veritable ami et un inestimable collègue – aidant, intelligent, articulé, dévoué, travaillant et humble. Il nous manque.  

Remerciements du projet: 

Équipe de  L’HeT : Simon Adam, Dana Allen, Lanny Beckman, Laura Buker, Kelsi Cox, Susan Beniston, Sarah de Leeuw, Megan Davies, Lori E., Susan Heximer, Cindy Jiang, Maria Liegghio, Marina Marrow, Ian Milligan, Cat Omura, Gillian Parekh, Kendra Pitt, Diane Purvey, Geoffrey Reaume, David Reville, Margo Robinson, Alexandra Rutherford, Karen Schwartz, Alistair Scott-Turner, Irit Shimrat, Nérée St-Amand, Lisa-Marie Sterr, Sonomi Tanaka, Kathy Teghtsoonian, Marie-Claude Tifault, Deborah Thien, Alex Verkade, Christina Wall, Branwen Willow, Dagmara Woronko.

Coordinateur de project : Megan Davies

Recherche et assistance technique : Celeste Billung-Meyer, Bryn Coates-Davies, Mab Coates-Davies, Julie Cormier, Dominic Dagenais, Martin Desmeules, Majda Drinnan, John Glenhill, Ji-Enn Lee, Nicole Malcolm, Sarah Mughal, Nick Nausbaum, Sarah Phillips, Alex Poutiainen, Jenna Reid, Angela Rooke, Lily Ross-Millard, Mélissa Roy, Nico Rullman, Erin Spinney, Oliver Sutherns, Sonomi Tanaka, Karen Truscott.

Traduction :  Quratul Ahmed, Judith Babin, Alexandra De Paiva Guimaraes, Marilyne Gour, Jazzmine Kosmal, Joadith Leung, Marian Mendoza-Perez, Meriem Mili, Jasmine Moutsatsos, Khrystyna Skira, Audrey Tavares, Véronique Widner.

Remerciements :  Sanja Begic, Kevin Breit, Ralph Buckley, Pat Capponi, Carleton University, Colin Coates, Lucy Costa, Louis Dionne, Chris Dooley, Douglas College, Erika Dyck, Lisa Endersby, George Brown College, Jennifer Green, Charles Peter Heit, Gabrielle Houle, Kathy Kendall, Eugene LeBlanc, Claudia Malacrida, Roberto Perin, Re-imagining Long-term Residential Care Project, Bob Rose, Pam Shearar, Jim Struthers, les étudiant(e)s de l’Université d’Ottawa et de l’Université de Carleton, Université d’Ottawa, l’Université de Victoria, Tania Willard, Victor Willis, Jayne Whyte, Natalie Wood, Université York University.

Financement : HiP has been funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, York University Faculty Association, York University, Thompson Rivers University, and the Ontario Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities.  The History in Practice webpages are hosted by York University.

About Us

About Us

History in Practice (HiP) is a set of web-based teaching resources that allow educators from across professional, undergraduate, and graduate programs to insert critical perspectives on mental health into online or in-class teaching.  An offspring of the Madness Canada website, HiP’s first teaching units were drawn from research done for the After the Asylum project, a national Canadian study of the shift away from institutional to community mental health. Community experts, people with experience of mental health difficulties, provided a blueprint for HiP content and contributed intimate, informed, and nuanced explorations of their lived realities. 

HiP continues to evolve. In Fall 2019 we relaunched HiP with a fresh design look and a new content management system.  An arrangement with the translation program at Glendon College, York University, means that we add new French units yearly.  With funding support from York University, we are currently moving forward with new content co-created with York University placement students and youth and children from diverse communities in the Greater Toronto region.

As with other Madness Canada projects, the process of developing HiP is based on principles of participatory democracy, and high value is placed on the experiential knowledge of people with mental health differences.

As part of Creative Commons we invite users to share and adapt our materials while respecting HiP values and principles. We ask users to give us credit, to refrain from making profit on our material, and to distribute HiP resources under our original Creative Commons license.

Alex Verkade 

This website is dedicated to our friend and colleague Alex Verkade who died in Vancouver in July 2013 when the first stage of this project was nearing completion.

A person of great wisdom and kindness, who also had a psychiatric diagnosis and history, Alex believed passionately that people like him were fully capable of (in his words), “making a positive contribution to their community by starting consumer-driven alternative service organizations and demonstrating the importance of consumer involvement to mental health and social service workers.” Alex devoted his life to this work: at MPA, West Coast Mental Health Network, Unity Housing, and most recently with the film The Inmates Are Running the Asylum: Stories from MPA and these teaching materials.

Alex was a true friend and an invaluable colleague – helpful, smart, articulate, dedicated, hardworking, unassuming. We miss him.

Project Acknowledgements: 

HiP Team: Simon Adam, Dana Allen, Lanny Beckman, Laura Buker, Kelsi Cox, Susan Beniston, Sarah de Leeuw, Megan Davies, Lori E., Susan Heximer, Cindy Jiang, Maria Liegghio, Marina Marrow, Ian Milligan, Cat Omura, Gillian Parekh, Kendra Pitt, Diane Purvey, Geoffrey Reaume, David Reville, Margo Robinson, Alexandra Rutherford, Karen Schwartz, Alistair Scott-Turner, Irit Shimrat, Nérée St-Amand, Lisa-Marie Sterr, Sonomi Tanaka, Kathy Teghtsoonian, Marie-Claude Tifault, Deborah Thien, Alex Verkade, Christina Wall, Branwen Willow, Dagmara Woronko.

Project Coordinator: Megan Davies

Research and Technical Assistance: Celeste Billung-Meyer, Bryn Coates-Davies, Mab Coates-Davies, Julie Cormier, Dominic Dagenais, Martin Desmeules, Majda Drinnan, John Glenhill, Ji-Enn Lee, Nicole Malcolm, Sarah Mughal, Nick Nausbaum, Sarah Phillips, Alex Poutiainen, Jenna Reid, Angela Rooke, Lily Ross-Millard, Mélissa Roy, Nico Rullman, Erin Spinney, Oliver Sutherns, Sonomi Tanaka, Karen Truscott.

Translation:  Quratul Ahmed, Judith Babin, Alexandra De Paiva Guimaraes, Marilyne Gour, Jazzmine Kosmal, Joadith Leung, Marian Mendoza-Perez, Meriem Mili, Jasmine Moutsatsos, Khrystyna Skira, Audrey Tavares, Véronique Widner.

Thank you:  Sanja Begic, Kevin Breit, Ralph Buckley, Pat Capponi, Carleton University, Colin Coates, Lucy Costa, Louis Dionne, Chris Dooley, Douglas College, Erika Dyck, Lisa Endersby, George Brown College, Jennifer Green, Charles Peter Heit, Gabrielle Houle, Kathy Kendall, Eugene LeBlanc, Claudia Malacrida, Roberto Perin, Re-imagining Long-term Residential Care Project, Bob Rose, Pam Shearar, Jim Struthers, les étudiant(e)s de l’Université d’Ottawa et de l’Université de Carleton, Université d’Ottawa, l’Université de Victoria, Tania Willard, Victor Willis, Jayne Whyte, Natalie Wood, Université York University.

Funding HiP has been funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, York University Faculty Association, York University, Thompson Rivers University, and the Ontario Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities.  The History in Practice webpages are hosted by York University.