Module Faire changement

 

Module Faire changement

 

Green Chinese takeaway boxPoints clés du module 

  • Reconnaître l’importance du militantisme de la folie comme un mouvement social et culturel qui favorise l’identité individuelle et communautaire positive.
  • Distinguer entre la défense des droits et le militantisme, et expliquer leurs rôles dans le changement social.
  • Comprendre comment le militantisme de la folie et la défense réordonnent la structure du pouvoir, permettant les alliances et les services différents.
  • Reconnaître la panoplie d’outils pour la défense et le militantisme.

Three green gears working togetherArtefacts du module

Green kitchen weigh scaleÉvaluation du module 

Demander à vos étudiants d’écrire une lettre de 250 mots expliquant leur compréhension du rôle essentiel de la défense des droits et du militantisme dans la vie des personnes ayant des problèmes de santé mentale, et dans leur propre pratique. Les étudiants devraient s’inspirer des artefacts qu’ils ont examinés dans ce module pour rédiger leur lettre, qu’ils adresseront à l’une des personnes suivantes :

  • Lanny Beckman ou une autre personne du film The Inmates
  • Eugène Leblanc
  • Nérée St-Amand

Green hand-held magnifying glassObjectifs d’apprentissage du module 

Tels étaient les propos profonds d’Alex Verjake, l’un des experts de la communauté qui a contribué à ce projet. Ils semblent très vrais pour bon nombre d’entre nous qui en sommes venus à comprendre le rôle vital que tient l’engagement dans l’émancipation des communautés.

Celles-ci prennent forme lorsque des personnes qui ont des problèmes de santé mentale se réunissent avec d’autres qui ont partagé leurs expériences et avec leurs alliés pour devenir non seulement des bénéficiairesde services, mais plutôt des citoyenset membres de collectivitésqui jouent un rôle actif dans l’organisation des circonstances de leur vie. Alex Verkade, comme d’autres militants de la folie, a trouvé un travail et une identité positive en aidant à créer des services communautaires de santé mentale et en intervenant en faveur de changements au sein du système de santé mentale. Les experts de la communauté nous ont dit qu’il ne suffit pas d’assurer les mêmes services par des fournisseurs souriants et ayant une attitude plaisante. En fait, les praticiens doivent considérer les organismes de défense des droits et de militantisme comme des forces positives; ils offrent une guérison aux usagers et sont des endroits où trouver des alliés informés et une aide pour les aiguiller vers les meilleures pratiques en santé mentale.

Ce module appelle l’étudiant à réfléchir sur le rôle qu’exerce la défense des droits et l’activisme, à la fois sur la vie des personnes souffrant de troubles mentaux, ainsi que sur les attitudes et pratiques des personnes qui les soutiennent. Comme le fait remarquer Alex, ce travail sauve des vies.

Making Change Module

Making Change Module

Green Chinese takeaway boxModule Takeaways

  • Recognize the importance of mad activism as a social and cultural movement which fosters positive individual and community identity
  • Distinguish between advocacy and activism and explain their roles in social change
  • Understand how mad activism and advocacy reorders power structures, affording new and different alliances and services
  • Recognize the range of tools for advocacy and activism

Three green gears working togetherModule Artefacts

Green measuring tapeModule Assessment

Ask your students to write a 250-word letter about their understanding of the essential role of advocacy and activism, both in the lives of people with mental health difficulties, and in their own practice. Students should use the artefacts that they have examined in this module to develop their points in their letter and address their letter to one of the following people:

  • Lanny Beckman
  • Don Weitz
  • Mel Starkman
  • Irit Shimrat

Green hand-held magnifying glassModule Learning Lens

The MPA saved my life.

These were the profound words of Alex Verkade, one of the community experts who contributed to this project. They rang true with many of us who have come to understand the vital role that engagement in empowering communities plays in our lives. 

These communities develop when people who struggle with their mental health come together alongside others with shared experiences, and their allies, to become not only receivers of services, but instead taking active roles as citizens and community members in shaping the circumstances of their own lives. Alex Verkade, like other mad activists, found work and a positive self-identity in helping create grassroots mental health services and pushing for change within the mental health system. Community experts told us that what is needed in the mental health system is more than service providers providing the same services with a smile and pleasant demeanour. Instead, practitioners need to see advocacy and activism organizations as positive forces, both as healing for service users and as places for finding knowledgeable allies and helpful signposts to best mental health practice.

Historically, this has occurred through activist organizations like the Mental Patients Association, which provides an example of how a community created their own solutions to unjust treatment and lack of supports, while also advocating for wider systems change. Today, it happens when we celebrate rather than condemn madness – for example through the Mad Pride movement and Icarus Project – and when we advocate for empowering changes in the mental health system.

This module asks students to consider the role of advocacy and activism, both in the lives of people with mental health difficulties, and in all of the attitudes and practices of people who support them.  As Alex shared, this work saves lives.